Staff Picks – February 2017

February 2017

Natasha

THE NINTH GRAVE BY STEFAN AHNHEM – $32.99
ADULT CRIME 

NinthGrave

Yes Stefan Ahnhem’s The Ninth Grave is a hefty 550 pages but so worth it for those who love scandi crime novels. It’s actually a prequel to last year’s Victim Without a Face but I think starting with this one was perfect as we trace Swedish homicide detective Fabian Risk a year prior in Stockholm trying to save his marriage alongside solving the disappearances of an MP and a celebrity which seem at first unconnected but reveal a seedy underworld and a perpetrator hellbent on revenge. Working with his partner, the very pregnant Malin Rehnberg the case gets darker and the body count grows even crossing the border into Denmark where DI Dunge Hougaard is simultaneously working a murder/rape case of her own. Anhem’s screenwriting background influences the multitude of short sharp chapters, numerous viewpoints from police and victims, and visual action and dialogue. Combined with wintery settings, high tech tracers, grisly incidents, and disturbed minds this becomes an addictive, meaty, unpredictable and complex read perfect for fans of Nesbo and Larsson (more for its complex web story than its lynchpin Lisbeth Salander character). Highly recommended!


Mark

CRIMSON LAKE BY CANDICE FOX – $32.99
ADULT CRIME

CrimsonLakeShamefully, I haven’t read 2xNed Kelly award winner Candice Fox before so made it a mission to read her next one which is out this month called Crimson Lake. Two unlikely down and out accused people open a PI agency in Nth Qld to find missing people whilst trying to prove their innocence about their own cases. With multiple threads this is an intricate story with lots to follow and worth pursuing right to the climatic end. If you like non detective formulas or Robert Galbraith then put this on your list.


Braiden

Fear by Dirk Kurbjuweit – $29.99
Adult thriller

FearAt what length will you go to protect your family? How far will you go to keep your family together? These are ultimately the two questions Randolph wrestles with throughout the course of German novelist Dirk Kurbjuweit’s sixth (but first translated) novel, Fear. Published in Germany in 2013 under Agony, it is clear why Text has published Kurbjuweit’s novel today, effortlessly translated by Imogen Taylor. We may be protected by strict gun laws in Australia, however this novel is incredibly relevant to those living in fearful circumstances, particularly for fathers and mothers who wish to keep their children safe in a world where the Doomsday Clock is 30 seconds closer to midnight.
Fear is a psychologically taut novel, more gripping than thrilling. Dieter Tiberius, Randolph’s neighbour in the basement of his building, has accused Randolph and his wife of sexually abusing their two children. What ensues is an account by Randolph of the events leading up to the moment his father Hermann was found in the basement having shot Dieter Tiberius. It’s a book brimming with one father’s thoughts of caution and vigilance, of his needs and desires, spurred by the failings of a legal system; yet it is also about family and the sacrifices made to keep it together. Fear isn’t a dense read — far from it — but the issues Kurbjuweit presents, in addition to the few twists towards the end, make it an intriguing read.


Jess

A SHADOW’S BREATH BY NICOLE HAYES – $19.99
YOUNG ADULT

ShadowsBreathI thought I was ready for this book- going in I knew there was an accident and it was highly likely that it would be sad. I underestimated how tragic and heart wrenching this book could be. Following Tessa’s life as the book flicks from past to present is one tragedy after the other- first her dad’s unexplained death, her mothers alcoholism and the abusive boyfriend her mother likes to have around.
But things start to get better- which makes the accident even more tragic. And while you know that it is unlikely that everyone still survive- when the death hits you, it hits you hard- and the tears become overwhelming- definitely not a book to read in public.
As the pieces of Tessa’s life come into place- the string girl Infront of us takes her real form- she is a character you can really get behind with her independence, strong-will and her flaws. The boy she loves, school life getting back to normal, her mum on the mend- all these things add up. When tragedy hits- it’s devastating.  I really enjoyed this book- the constant shifts from past to present was really interesting and well done- but those last few chapters absolutely destroyed me. A book that guarantees water-works.


Steph

CARVE THE MARK BY VERONICA ROTH – $24.99
Young Adult

VR_CarveTheMarkHaving read the Divergent series, I was very excited to hear Veronica Roth was releasing a new novel. Carve the Mark is a sci-fi/fantasy novel that follows Akos and Cyra, two characters from very different backgrounds. Akos is from Thuvhe, and Cyra is a part of the Shotet nation. In a galaxy where some are favoured by fate, everyone develops a current gift. These current gifts can be anything from making one feeling at ‘ease’ to making one feel pain. Both Cyra and Akos are prisoners to their gifts, left vulnerable as others try to control them. Cyra’s brother Ryzek is one of these people. He would definitely be one of the most hated characters in the novel, a violent and cowardly dictator of the Shotet people, who rules by installing fear in his nation. Despite their relation, Cyra proves she is just the opposite. Even with her current gift, she shows promising qualities, similar to that of someone from Thuvhe, the peaceful nation. When Cyra and Akos are brought together, after an unexpected kidnapping, we see that these characters are more alike than they first appear.
Roth creates new worlds in this novel, just as she has previously, inviting us to use our imagination. Despite being quite a long novel, Roth keeps the reader engaged, especially within the last 100 pages, where many secrets and surprises are revealed to the reader. Carve the Mark is great for fans of Star Wars, Divergent, Illuminae and a number of other sci-fi/fantasy series. Despite having some similarities to her previous writing, I believe Carve the Mark is a totally unique storyline, one that urges the reader to think harder and really involve themselves in this new world. I’m very much looking forward to the next novel in this series, especially after the big twist at the end!


Greer

THE GOLDEN CHILD BY WENDY JAMES – $32.99
ADULT AUSSIE FICTION

GoldenChildThis book is about a mummy-blogger who discovers her child is a terrible, terrible bully. Being a twenty-year-old with no blog and no immediate plan to give birth, let alone to terrible, terrible bullies, this might seem like a strange choice for me. However, the psychology major in me was intrigued by the premise, and was certainly not disappointed.
From the outset, this makes for addictive reading. Beth, an Australian mother to two teenaged girls, is sure she has done everything possible to be a good parent. She has avoided overindulging her children while also giving them opportunities through extra-curricular activities and a private education. She has helped them maintain good self-esteem while keeping them humble. They have good grades, and go to bed at nine pm (nine pm!). In the first pages, however, we learn that Charlotte, the youngest, has done something so abominable that a classmate’s life is in danger. Of course, as readers we’re now desperate to know just what has gone wrong, and how Beth will handle it.
James’ prose is straight-forward and readable, and the characters (particularly the female characters) are fleshed-out and credible. As disaster after disaster stacks up against Beth, it’s hard not to feel a deep empathy for her – James really forces her protagonist to confront impossible questions, of whether parents should be held responsible for their children’s actions, and whether a parent’s love can be unconditional despite their child’s cruelty. The use of blog posts throughout the novel is genius, although we don’t realise how clever it is until the very end (trust me on this). It’s also very topical in that it addresses how technology has shaped adolescent interactions with their peers, and on an inter-generational level as well.
A minor criticism is that some of the “teenager-speak” from the younger characters seems a bit forced (and sometimes almost funny), such as the girls saying “lol” aloud.  The small loss of authenticity this creates is minimal however, and definitely doesn’t take away from the realistic portrayal of Australia in 2017. If you have a Liane-Moriarty-shaped-hole in your bookshelf, this domestic thriller might just be the solution!

 


<< Back to main page