Staff Picks – January 2017 (top 5s of 2016)

January 2017 – Top 5s of 2016

Natasha


the dry




Fiction

  1. The Dry by Jane Harper PanMacmillan $32.99 
    Aussie debut, mystery in a small country town, kept thinking about it long after I read it, so evocative and great characters and dialogue and twist
  2. The Good People by Hannah Kent PanMacmillan $32.99
    Aussie historical fiction, 1825 Ireland, wonderful description of place, grief and superstition – dare I say even better than Burial Rites which I adored!
  3. Last painting of Sara DeVos by Dominic Smith Allen and Unwin $23.99
    Aussie historical fiction – Holland, 1950s Manhattan & current day Sydney, clever interweaving of art and role of women and tangled relationships
  4. Everyone Brave is Forgiven by Chris Cleave Hachette $29.99
    Historical fiction WWII, surprising perspectives of the wealthy and forgotten disabled and coloured children), smaller cheaper $22.99 version due end of Jan
  5. A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara PanMacmillan $19.99
    fiction – made me laugh, cry, scream and almost throw up – a most visceral novel that spans 40+ years! )

Non fiction – tie

Forty Autumns by Nina Willner Hachette $32.99 (enthralling memoir about family living in East Berlin) and Songs of a War Boy Deng Thiak Adut Hachette $32.99 (Sudanese refuge who has achieved great things here in Australia – memoir)

Kids / Teen

Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit  Random $19.99
(10+, Krakow Poland, 1939, for fans of Once series and Boy in Striped PJs)

Audio book of the year

The Light Between the Oceans by ML Stedman as read by Noah Taylor Bolinda $34.95 (Aussie historical fiction, post WWI Western Australia, wonderfully moving and difficult for all involved in the choice to keep a child washed up on shore of a lighthouse island)


Mark





Adult

  1. The Four Legendary Kingdoms by Matt Reilly Aussie fiction PanMacmillan $42.99
  2. Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil by Melina Marchetta, Aussie Adult Fiction, Viking (Penguin Australia) $32.99
  3. The Good People by Hannah Kent PanMacmillan $32.99
  4. The Soldiers Curse by Meg and Tom Keneally Aussie historical crime Random House $32.99
  5. The Widow by Fiona Barton Adult thriller Random House $22.99

Kids /Teen

  1. The Book of Whispers by Kimberley Starr Text Publishing $19.99
  2. Seven Signs book 1 Skyfire by Michael Adams Scholastic $7.99
  3. Hot dog book 1 by Anh Do Scholastic $12.99

Audio

Wrong Side of Goodbye by Michael Connelly read by Titus Welliver (who plays Bosch on tv series) $39.99


Braiden




  1. The Nix by Nathan Hill, Adult Fiction, Picador (Pan Macmillan) $29.99
  2. The Sidekicks by Will Kostakis, Young Adult #LoveOzYA, Penguin Australia $19.99
  3. Barracuda by Christos Tsiolkas, Aussie Adult Fiction, Allen & Unwin $22.99
  4. The Toymaker by Liam Pieper, Aussie Adult Fiction, Hamish Hamilton (Penguin Australia) $29.99
  5. Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil by Melina Marchetta, Aussie Adult Fiction, Viking (Penguin Australia) $32.99

Jess




  1. Michael Grant – Frontlines  (Young Adult)- Hardie Grant Egmont $19.99
  2. Kendare Blake – Three Dark Crowns (Young adult)- Pan Macmillan $16.99
  3. Melina Marchetta- Tell the Truth Shame the Devil (Australian Thriller adult) Viking (Penguin Australia) $32.99
  4. Rick Riordan- Magnus Chase (#2) and The Hammer of Thor (Child series) Penguin $22.99
  5. Martin Cruz Smith – The Girl from Venice (Fiction)- Simon and Schuster $32.99

Steph




  1. Fight like a Girl by Clementine Ford Adult Non Fiction (feminist theory) Allen and Unwin $29.99
  2. The Toymaker by Liam Pieper, Aussie Adult Fiction, Hamish Hamilton (Penguin Australia) $29.99
  3. Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari Non fiction Penguin $22.99
  4. The Sun is also a Star by Nicola Yoon Young adult Random House $19.99
  5. HexenHaus by Nikki McWatters Young adult Penguin $19.95

Greer





1. The Midnight Watch, by David Dyer. Australian fiction. Penguin, $22.99
2. After Dark, by Haruki Murakami. Adult fiction. Random House, $19.99
3. The Hollow Boy (Lockwood & Co. Book 3), by Jonathan Stroud. Children series. Random House, $19.99
4. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, by Leslye Walton. Young adult. Walker Books, $19.99
5. Wolf by Wolf, by Ryan Graudin. Young adult. Hachette Australia, $19.99


<<Back to main page